Silver Throat – Bill Cosby Sings 1967

Bill Cosby Post

William Henry Cosby Jr., Ed.D. (born July 12, 1937) is an American comedian, actor, author, television producer and activist. A veteran stand-up performer, he got his start at various clubs, then landed a vanguard role in the 1960s action show I Spy. He later starred in his own series, The Bill Cosby Show, in 1969. He was one of the major characters on the children's television show The Electric Company for its first two seasons, and created the humorous educational cartoon series Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids, about a group of young friends growing up in the city. Cosby also acted in numerous films.

Silver Throat Front

Silver Throat: Bill Cosby Sings (1967) is the fifth album by Bill Cosby.
It was his first album that was recorded in the studio, as well as his first album that showcased his singing, backed by the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band. The album consisted mostly of straightforward rhythm and blues performances, including several Jimmy Reed songs, a cover version of Ray Charles' "I Got a Woman" with slightly comedic lyrics, "Mojo Workout", which was a sequel to the Muddy Waters classic "I Got My Mojo Workin'", and "Little Ole Man" which combined a comedic monologue with Stevie Wonder's "Uptight, Everything's Alright". Also included is an original song credited to Cosby, "Don'cha Know".
"Little Ole Man" became a major hit upon release as a single, attaining gold record status for selling one million copies in the United States and reaching #4 on the U.S. Hot 100 chart. It was Cosby's only hit song.


Track List:

Side one

1.    Bright Lights, Big City (Reed) – 2:41
2.    Big Boss Man (Dixon, Smith) – 2:45
3.    Hush Hush (Reed) – 1:54
4.    Baby, What You Want Me to Do (Reed) – 2:43
5.    Tell Me You Love Me (Reed, Smith) – 3:07
6.    Aw Shucks, Hush Your Mouth (Reed) – 1:36

Side two

1.    Little Ole Man (Uptight, Everything's Alright) (Cosby, May, Wonder) – 4:10
2.    Mojo Workout (Bright) – 2:53
3.    I Got a Woman (Charles) – 3:22
4.    Don'cha Know (Cosby) – 2:45
5.    Place in the Sun (Miller, Wells) – 2:35

Link do Arquivo

Avatar Ferpa 2

Share on Google Plus

About Fernando (Ferpa)

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.

0 comentários :